Dragonfly Words

When Life gets in the Way | February 11, 2010

Quitting one job, beginning a new one, and coming down with an awful cold have made writing pretty much non-existent for a little over a month now. Pathetic, I know, but when your schedule changes, it’s really hard to get back into the swing of things. So my new after-work plan is to come home, tidy the house, cook dinner, and then by 7:00, be in front of the computer with my manuscript open. I will then force myself to sit there until 8:00. If words flow out, great. If not, no sweat either. I will at least be imposing a schedule upon myself.

I remember when I got my first laptop and I thought “Great! I can write anywhere.” But looking back on it, I wrote a lot more often when I was forced to sit in the little closet we called a home office in the freezing basement of one of the houses I lived in growing up. I’ve thought a lot about that, wondering whether I was more creative then or just more disciplined. I think the truth of it is, the desktop created a stable environment. That was where I went to write. The invention of the laptop, while it may help some people to write more productively, is a hinderance to me. I was one of those kids in school who had to sit in the same spot everyday, otherwise I couldn’t concentrate. It makes sense, then, that I cannot focus on writing when I am sitting on the sofa or lying in bed, or even sitting in the arm-chair beside my desk.

Someday, I would love to be one of those writers that can write anytime and anywhere. But for now, I think I have to accept that that’s not realistic. The sooner I adhere to a schedule and a set writing spot, the sooner I will achieve my goal.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

